Comedy Song. Environmental

This is the first comedy song I came up with for the Comedy Songwriting class.

I chose the opinion that we are destroying our environment.

As satire, I chose Reggae as the style and imagined it being sung by Mitt Romney dressed as a Rastafarian.

Title “I like it when the sun shines”

Chorus:
What do you mean it’s hot?!
What do you mean it’s hot?!
Next you be tellin’ me the animals are extincting!
What do you mean it’s hot?!

(My changes in the third line for the following choruses were:
Next you be tellin’ me you be chokin’ on pollution
Next you be tellin’ me the oceans be gettin’ acid)

Verses:
They say the polar bears are suffering,
But give it some perpective, it’s a distance ‘ting;
They need to learn to chill, go with the flow
And just install some air conditioning.

They speak of gas as if it was a cuss
But that’s why God is there; to nursemaid us.
The world’s God’s gift and we must dominate,
Because you’ll never get to Heaven on a bus.

They say the world is heading for a storm
But let God’s lightening strike and be the norm,
‘Cos when I die I know I’ll get to Heaven
And Hell on earth will dream of just being warm.

Bridge (sung by extinct creatures like dodos and dinosaurs):
But you’re raping the earth in your dance!
Once it’s used, we’ve no second chance;
Very soon you’ll have more than just the poor that’re bleedin’,
You’re about to be expelled from the Garden of Eden!

Finish with the chorus, unrepentant:
What do you mean it’s hot?!
What do you mean it’s hot?!
Next you be tellin’ me the Chinese won’t come save us!
What do you mean it’s hot?!

Feedback:
Because the chorus is “What do you mean it’s hot?!”, I could, whilst keeping the 3 lines in each chorus the same, change this in each separate chorus to be “What do you mean it’s _____?!” with a different blank for each.
Needs an extra verse.
Needs more evolution
Needs to heighten, push past reality. For instance as if he says no one cares about NYC, or “who cares if people die, heaven is limited anyway

Leave a Reply

