A Funny Thing Happened To Me Yesterday

About 20 years ago, I used to write a daily diary in the form of letters to a friend. Because they were letters to a friend, it encouraged me to be interesting, and being a diary type exercise, it helped me record the things that had happened to me. What I hadn’t realised at the time was that it was a fabulous writing exercise, and maybe I should have continued to write it after I returned from my travels; although life was more interesting while in other countries, loads of fun and funny things happen every day, and spending 30 minutes writing about them would be a great record and a great way to become a better writer.

I recently discovered the premise behind Richard Herring’s blog, namely to do exactly that. In fact, he describes why he does it here, and it is precisely the words I would use. Had I come up with them. Maybe what I want to say is that I agree with him. Whatever, I like the idea of writing for 30 minutes a day and trying to entertain myself and hopefully a few others. Let’s see what I can tap out in 30 minutes!

Leave a Reply

